Honours Programme

The Honours Programme is year long academic programme aimed at the most able students in year 7. The course is delivered in a lecture and seminar style approach providing further enrichment opportunities outside of school. The schedule provides subjects and topics of study not typical on the Hurstmere curriculum, which have been specially chosen to stretch and challenge students and to push them outside of their comfort zones. 

 

A range of skills will be developed throughout the course; these will encourage students to question the world around them, enable students to take risks, work independently and as a team. The topics selected should continue to instill a love for learning whilst raising student aspirations so that they reach their full potential. 

 

In July students and parents will be invited to a ceremony evening which will see students present on topics of interest and 'graduate' from the Honours Programme. 

 

Programme of study September 2021 - July 2022

 

Please click on the hyperlink in the subject column where available. This will allow your son to revisit content covered and share his learning with you. 

Date of Lecture Staff Subject
Wednesday 22nd September SGR Introduction to the Honors Programme
Wednesday 29th September RPS/JBD/ACR Overview and Author Presentation
Wednesday 6th October OAE Junior Maths Challenge
Wednesday 13th October OAE Junior Maths Challenge
Wednesday 20th October OAE Junior Maths Challenge
Half term    
Wednesday 3rd November ACR Greek Mythology
Wednesday 10th November OAE Junior Maths Challenge
Wednesday 17th November OAE Junior Maths Challenge
Wednesday 24th November RSK Forensics 
Wednesday 1st December DB Block Printing
Wednesday 8th December DB Block Printing
Wednesday 15th December PBO  Introduction to the brain and how good is your memory?
Christmas Holiday    
Christmas Holiday    
Wednesday 5th Jan JBD Journalism
Wednesday 12th Jan LN An intro to Latin
Wednesday 19th Jan SHB Catering
Wednesday 26th Jan ALT Spanish Cuisine
Wednesday 2nd Feb SHB Catering
Wednesday 9th Feb SHB Catering
Half term    
Wednesday 23rd Feb RPS Dystopia
Wednesday 2nd March JPE Parliament and voting
Wednesday 9th March JPE Parliament and voting
Wednesday 16th March PBR Parliament and voting
Wednesday 23rd March PBO How to improve memory
Wednesday 30th March  RSK Forensics 
Easter Holiday    
Easter Holiday    
Wednesday 20th April JBD, ACR, RPS Publishing process
Wednesday 27th April RSK Forensics 
Wednesday 4th May JMO Glaciation; types of ice
Wednesday 11th May JMO  Glaciation: The Ice Age & LGM
Wednesday 18th May JMO Glaciation: Cryosphere Changes
Wednesday 25th May GKG/CBD TBC
Wednesday 1st June GKG/CBD TBC
Half term    
Wednesday 8th June JWN The Aspinal Foundation and Captive Breeding
Wednesday 15th June JWN The Aspinal Foundation and Captive Breeding
Wednesday 22nd June MWT Presentation Skills
Wednesday 29th June MWT Begin Presentations
Week Beginning 04th July   ALL HPTs facilitate group presentations
Wednesday 13th July    Student Presentation to Parents, HP teachers, RPS and SLT
Activities week