What are BTEC Firsts?

BTEC First qualifications are undertaken in further education and sixth-form colleges, schools and other training providers, and have been since they were introduced in 1983. Their purpose, approaches to teaching, learning and assessment are established and understood by teaching professionals, employers and learners alike.

The BTEC First qualification undertaken within the school is Edexcel BTEC First Award in Sport.

BTEC Firsts are NQF Level 2 qualifications designed to provide specialist work-related qualifications in a range of sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment. The qualifications also provide career development opportunities for those already in work. Consequently they provide a course of study for full-time or part-time learners in schools, colleges and training centres.

On successful completion of a BTEC First qualification, learners can progress to or within employment and/or continue their study in the same,or related vocational area.

Key features of the BTEC Firsts in Sport

The BTEC Firsts in Sport have been developed in the sport and active leisure sector to:

provide education and training for sport, leisure and recreation employees give opportunities for sport, leisure and recreation employees to achieve a nationally recognised Level 2 vocationally specific qualification give full-time learners the opportunity to enter employment in the sport and active leisure sector or to progress to vocational qualifications such as the Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Nationals in Sport and Sport and Exercise Sciences. Give the learners the opportunity to develop a range of skills and techniques, personal skills and attributes essential for successful performance in working life.

Edexcel BTEC First Award in Sport

The Edexcel BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Sport is a 30-credit and 180-guided-learning-hour (GLH) qualification that consists of one 5-credit mandatory unit plus one 10-credit mandatory specialist unit plus optional units that provide for a combined total of 30 credits.

Unit 1 Fitness Testing and Training (Mandatory unit)

Unit 2 Practical Sport (Mandatory unit)

Unit 7 Planning and Leading a Sports Activities

Unit 8 Technical Skills and Tactical Awareness for Sport

Assessment and Grading

In BTEC Firsts all units are internally assessed. All assessment for BTEC First qualifications is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the

specified learning outcomes. Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading criteria which are to be used for grading purposes. One unit will be an externally graded online exam.

A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit or distinction:

to achieve a level 2 ‘pass’ a learner must have satisfied all the pass criteria (equivalent to 1 x GCSE grade C)

to achieve a level 2 ‘merit’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the merit criteria (equivalent to 1 x GCSE grade B)

to achieve a level 2 ‘distinction’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the distinction criteria. (equivalent to 1 x GCSE grade A)